February 2018
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 1 2 3

Chefs' Newsletter


BCCA 2015 President’s Ball Winners

BCCA 2015 President’s Ball Winners


The BCCA President’s Ball was held on February 28th at the Delta Grand Villa in Burnaby. The 45th annual sold out event attracted 160 guests from the industry.

A six course meal was prepared by executive chef Keith Pears and served in the ballroom of the hotel. Highlights of the meal were a pacific provider cured sockeye salmon, a refreshing intermezzo and a beef duo entrée with braised short rib, tenderloin, potato terrine, carrot puree and cippolini.

At the gala evening, six awards were handed out in recognition of outstanding achievements in different categories. The winners were:


  • Julius Pokomandy Award - Anthony Monroe

  • Fred Naso Award - Julian Bond

  • Lifetime Achievement  - Michael Pinter

  • Citation of the Year Award - Stephen Wade

  • Associate Member Award - Samantha Bavaro, Vincor

  • Chef of the Year - Edgar Rahal


Most of the winners were genuinely surprised especially master of ceremonies for the evening Chef Rahal, who also serves as BCCA chairman. He was completely caught off guard with the honour of winning Chef of the Year (which the association has tried to give to him a couple of times in the past).

“I’m very honoured to a part of the brigade of chefs of the year...I do it for the passion for the food and the kids. This is my 24th year on the board. I’ve seen a lot of people receive their awards. I love giving, not receiving,” he said modestly as he accepted the award from BCCA president Chef Boban Kovachevich.

Rahal is the general manager and executive chef for Trimen Food Service Equipment Western Canada. He has worked in the industry for more than 45 years and his continued passion for food, mentoring and training makes him a visionary in the culinary field.